Category: Mystery

He's Gone: A Novel by Deb Caletti

By Deb Caletti

From nationwide booklet Award finalist Deb Caletti comes an intensely gripping tale approximately love, loss, marriage, and secrets--perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult, Kristin Hannah, and Anna Quindlen. "One of the easiest books I've learn all year."--Barbara O'Neal, writer of The backyard of chuffed Endings"What do you're thinking that occurred on your husband, Mrs. Keller?" The Sunday morning starts off like several different, other than the mild hangover. Dani Keller wakes up on her Seattle houseboat, a headache construction in the back of her eyes from the wine she drank at a celebration the evening earlier than. yet in this specific Sunday morning, she's shocked to determine that her husband, Ian, isn't really domestic. because the hours move, Dani fills her day with small issues. yet nonetheless, Ian doesn't go back. inflammation shifts to fret, fear slides nearly imperceptibly into panic. after which, like a constant blackness, the bad attention hits Dani: He's long past. because the police paintings methodically via all of the logical explanations--he's damage, he's run off, he's been killed--Dani searches frantically for a clue to whether Ian is in truth useless or alive. And, slowly, she unpacks their courting, maintaining every one second as much as the sunshine: from its excessive, adulterous starting, to the grandeur in their new love, to the problems of without end. She examines the entire sins she can--and cannot--remember. because the days go, Dani will plumb the depths of her sense of right and wrong, turning over and revealing the darkest of her secrets and techniques to be able to observe the demanding truth--about herself, her husband, and their lives jointly. "A thought-provoking and relocating exploration."--New York occasions bestselling writer Erica BauermeisterLook for distinctive gains within. sign up for the Circle for writer chats and more.From the alternate Paperback edition.

Show description

Bless the Bride (Molly Murphy, Book 10) by Rhys Bowen

By Rhys Bowen

Booklet 10 within the Molly Murphy series.

With Molly Murphy’s marriage ceremony to NYPD Captain Daniel Sullivan quick forthcoming, the Irish sleuth heads to the Westchester County geographical region, the place his mom can lend her a hand and recommend her on a bride’s right position. And shockingly, Molly looks agreeing. She has already promised that she’ll pack up her PI enterprise and calm down after marrying, yet she isn’t a married lady but. So, while she will get notice of a potential case, she sneaks again into town to squeeze in a bit extra sleuthing prior to the marriage bells can ring.

A filthy rich chinese language immigrant wishes her to discover his lacking bride, and Molly---sure she isn’t getting the entire story---suspects that his bride ran off. yet the place may she cross? the one chinese language ladies in early-twentieth-century big apple are saved below lock and key, and Molly can’t support yet wonder whether she’s saving the girl from the streets or supporting to fasten her away for good.

Rhys Bowen’s deft contact and captivating wit make Bless the Bride one other stellar addition to her Anthony and Agatha Award--winning historic series.

About the Author
RHYS BOWEN is writer of the Anthony and Agatha Award-winning Molly Murphy mysteries, the Edgar Award-nominated Evan Evans sequence, and the Royal Spyness sequence. Born in England, she lives in San Rafael, California.

Show description

Engleby by Sebastian Faulks

By Sebastian Faulks

Meet Mike Engleby, a second-year scholar at college. although Mike is clearly clever, and focused on many golf equipment, it's transparent that whatever approximately Mike isn't really particularly correct. whilst he turns into fixated on a classmate named Jennifer Arkland, and she or he is going lacking, we're left with the looming query: Is Mike Engleby concerned?

Show description

Death by Bridle (Josiah Reynolds Mysteries, Book 3) by Abigail Keam

By Abigail Keam

Josiah is again at the path of a assassin while she is begged by means of Shaneika Mary Todd to assist guard her son who witnessed a murdered.

Arthur Aaron Greene III is one in every of Kentucky's such a lot sought after horse males yet he's chanced on striking from the rafters in a horse barn with stones in his wallet and a bucket of water lower than his ft. the one witness is a 9 yr outdated boy who can't remember.

Relentless in her pursuit of the killer, Josiah stumbles throughout years of lies and deceptions that come with her expensive good friend, girl Elsmere. Josiah discovers that she needs to return to 1962 if she is to determine the reality in any respect, whereas making the rounds of quirky characters that may basically be present in the plush Bluegrass horse country.

Fighting an unknown enemy within the glamorous international of Thoroughbreds, oak-cured bourbon and antebellum mansions. Josiah struggles to discover the reality in a land that retains its secrets and techniques good

Show description

Trapped! (Crime Through Time, Book 6) by Bill Doyle

By Bill Doyle

"Trapped!" is the most recent one i've got learn with my niece, and it can be the simplest but. (It's not easy to select a favourite, though.) This one is a mixture sci-fi and secret novel concerning paintings fraud aboard the futuristic house Elevator. the tale itself is excellent, with a riding, fast moving plot with plenty of twists and turns. What makes this sequence fairly nice, i feel, is how it brings in scraps of information via sidebars and additional pages that my niece particularly loves.

Show description

Prague Fatale (Bernie Gunther, Book 8) by Philip Kerr

By Philip Kerr

September 1941: Bernie Gunther returns from the horrors of the jap entrance to discover his domestic urban of Berlin replaced, and altered for the more severe. The blackout, rationing, the RAF, the S-Bahn assassin and Czech terrorists are all conspiring to make lifestyles very disagreeable. Now again at his previous table on murder in Kripo HQ, Alexanderplatz, Bernie begins to enquire the demise of a Dutch railway employee, whereas beginning whatever - of a completely assorted nature - with an area good-time lady. yet he's obliged to drop every thing while his previous boss, Reinhard Heydrich of the SD, the recent Reichsprotector of Bohemia and Moravia, orders him to Prague to spend a weekend at his kingdom apartment. It's a call for participation Bernie feels he could gladly were spared, particularly whilst he meets his fellow visitors - them all senior loathsome figures within the SS and SD.

The weekend turns bitter shortly whilst a physique is located, in a room that was once locked from the interior. Now the highlight falls on Bernie to teach off his investigative talents and remedy this possible most unlikely secret. If he fails to take action, he understands what's at stake - not just his popularity, but additionally that of Reinhard Heydrich, a guy who doesn't prefer to lose face.

Show description

Double Exposure by Brian Caswell

By Brian Caswell

Chris Eveson is a genius; streetwise, creative and delicate, and rebelling opposed to the domineering abuses of his father. in contrast to his dual brother, Cain, who turns out commonplace in each manner - a minimum of to the outward observer. yet presents and skills run a lot deeper than dimensions.

Brian Caswell's outstanding new novel will draw you right into a net of mysteries, and of horrors from the prior buried by way of lies within the current.

Show description

Cloche and Dagger by Jenn McKinlay

By Jenn McKinlay

"Not purely is Scarlett Parker's love existence within the loo--as her British cousin Vivian Tremont may say--it's additionally long gone viral with an embarrassing video. So whilst Viv indicates Scarlett depart Florida to put low in London, she hops at the subsequent aircraft around the pond. Viv is the owner of Mims's Whims, a ladies' hat store on Portobello highway bequeathed to either cousins via their loved grandmother, and he or she desires Scarlett to eventually subscribe to her within the millinery company. yet a number of surprises wait for Scarlett in London. First, she is met on the airport no longer by way of Viv, yet by means of her good-looking enterprise supervisor, Harrison Wentworth. moment, Viv--who has a few whims of her own--seems to be lacking. not anyone is just too serious about the unpredictable Viv till one among her posh consumers is located useless donning the cloche hat Viv made for her--and not anything else. Is Scarlett's cousin in hassle? Or is she in hiding?"

Show description

The Christmas Cookie Killer (Fresh-Baked Mysteries, Book 3) by Livia J. Washburn

By Livia J. Washburn

Phyllis Newsom stands an excellent chance within the Christmas cookie contest along with her snowflake-shaped lime sugar cookies. yet Mrs. Simmons' gingerdoodles may possibly supply her a run for her money--until she's came upon strangled in a pile of cookies. With many on Santa's naughty suspect record, this situation is a cookie Phyllis skill to disintegrate?

Show description